12 Chinese Car Brands to Include ESC from January 2018

Twelve Chinese car brands have announced their decision to fit all new models with electronic stability control (ESC) as standard from January 2018. They brands are Besturn, Changan, Dongfeng Fengshen, Geely, Haval, Hongqi, Lynk & Co, MG, Trumpchi, Roewe, Senova, and Wey. Collectively, they represent 85% of the domestic brand market.

The carmakers made the announcement at today’s launch of Stop the Crash China in Shanghai. Stop the Crash is a Global NCAP led partnership which has been campaigning around the world to promote crash avoidance technologies.

Related: Vehicle Safety: Past vs Present

Yu Kai, party secretary of China Automotive Technology and Research Center (CATARC) said:

“This is a bold step by Chinese manufacturers, who have shown a real commitment to road safety by fitting this technology as standard ahead of regulatory requirements. CATARC is committed to continuing to promote Stop the Crash technologies and to save lives in China.”

The anti-skid technology, which can help prevent loss of control crashes, has been mandatory in both the European Union and United States since 2012.

from Paultan


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments