All New 2019 Toyota HiAce Debuts

Toyota has officially unveiled the sixth generation HiAce in Philippines today, its first market worldwide. After Philippines, the all new HiAce will be progressively introduced in other countries.

Related: Toyota All Set to Launch the Next Generation HiAce

According to Toyota, the new HiAce is built on a platform specially developed for this model. This is the first time that the HiAce gets a protruding bonnet, allowing new engines to be fitted. In addition to bonnet, the new HiAce gets angular headlamps, bolder grille with thick chrome bar, compact lower air intake and sportier bumper with vertical LED DRLs above the fog lamps.

Toyota has also used a new leaf spring rear suspension that is 200 mm longer and provides a 30 mm increased bound stroke. The turning radius has reduced to 6.9 meters, which will make driving in urban areas and parking much easier. The new HiAce also offers a higher level of body rigidity compared to the outgoing model, along with an improved ride quality. Furthermore it gets wider front quarter glass to enhance visibility for the driver.

The interior is completely new and makes the new HiAce look much more refined, and at par with latest industry design standards for a vehicle of this type. Key features include more compact multi-function steering wheel, new driver information display, touchscreen infotainment system, cruise control, LED reading lights and multiple USB ports.

In terms of what goes under the bonnet, the HiAce is powered by either a 1GD 2.8 liter four-cylinder turbo-diesel or a 7GR 3.5-liter petrol engine, mated to either a 6-speed manual or 6-speed automatic transmission.

The 2019 Toyota HiAce is available in two body types: Standard Roof and High Roof. A variety of seating layouts are available (29 in total as listed by Toyota), divided into three distinct categories – Van, Tourism and Commuter – the last of the three can carry up to 17 people.

Related: 50 Years of Toyota Hilux

The 6th gen Toyota HiAce now looks more aligned to other modern vans such as the Ford Transit and Mercedes-Benz Vito. Furthermore, Toyota says its aiming for a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating with the new Hiace, and that the Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assistance systems will be part of the equipment list.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments